Red Tentacle (Novel)

The Red Tentacle is awarded annually to the novel containing speculative or fantastic elements that best fulfills the criteria of intelligent, progressive and entertaining.

The winner receives a £1,000 prize and a hand-crafted tentacle trophy.

Previous winners of the Red Tentacle include Nina Allan’s The Rift, Margaret Atwood’s The Heart Goes Last, Andrew Smith’s Grasshopper Jungle, Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being, Nick Harkaway’s Angelmaker, Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls and Lauren Beukes’ Zoo City.